top of page

The Awards

From the everyday sounds that encapsulate the events of the past twelve months to the year’s most innovative and creative sound technology, the Sound of the Year Awards celebrates sound in all its forms and from all corners of the world. Judged by a panel of leading lights from the international sound community, the winner of each category will receive a pair of basicUcho microphones - a set of phantom-powered, high-quality omnidirectional electret microphones courtesy of LOM.

Category partners this year include
, Natural History MuseumAccidental, the Southbank Centre's National Poetry Library and UK Hearing Conservation Association.

Submissions are now closed.



The Judges

Alannah Chance
Audio Producer, Somerset House Trust

Christian Ching
Ecologist and Art
ist, Natural History Museum

Jez Riley French

Artist, Listener, Curator, Microphone Builder


Kate Carr
Field Recordist and Sound Artist, Flaming Pines

Kirsty Whalley
Oscar-Winning Mixing Engineer

Dr. Linda O’Keeffe
Sound Artist, University of Edinburgh

Matmos - Drew Daniel and M. C. (Martin) Schmidt

Electronic duo

Rana Eid 

db Studios, Beirut

Tony Gayle
Sound Designer

Prof.  Trevor Cox

Professor of Acoustic Engineering, Uni of Salford

Will René

Librarian, National Poetry Library and Radio Host, NTS


Matthew Herbert (Chair of Judges)

The Radiophonic Institute

bottom of page